1. Create an account to join in the discussion. Once you register don't forget to enter our monthly drawings.

Register to post on our forum.
  2. Home Theater Lounge will begin holding a live chat every Wednesday evening at 9pm Central. The goal is to get as many members online at the same time and just talk movies, music, and gear. You can join the chat by going to the Shoutbox app.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

DIY speakers...Where do I start?

Discussion in 'DIY Lounge' started by Corey, Jun 27, 2007.

1. Corey

Corey New Member

I've been looking around, demoing, researching speakers for quite a while now, and still haven't been able to come to a decision. I've ruled a few out, added a few back, ruled them out again, etc. I just can't decide what I want to do.

Now, I'm wondering if going the DIY route is an option for me. I have some experience with woodworking, own the basic tools, and am somewhat handy in general. Nothing too complex, but I can manage the basics.

I'm looking for a tower-style speaker, clear but not bright, excellent soundstage, and could be easily integrated into my system. Would be about 75% movies/TV, 25% 2-chanenel audio. I have a PB2+ from SVS, which will handle the low end. Amplifier is currently a 200 wpc Adcom.

So, where oh where would I begin my travels down this path? kits? Start from scratch? pre-made plans? What do I need to look out for?

Any advice is helpful. Anyone taken this route themselves?

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Forgot to mention I have ZERO experience with working on electrical engineering, so I'm not sure how I would handle building the crossover. I wonder if they come pre-built?

2. cjd

cjd New Member

How big? There are SO many options, SO many opinions, it's really hard to know where to start.

I design speakers for DIY use, so yeah... been there. ;)