1. Create an account to join in the discussion. Once you register don't forget to enter our monthly drawings.

Register to post on our forum.
  2. Home Theater Lounge will begin holding a live chat every Wednesday evening at 9pm Central. The goal is to get as many members online at the same time and just talk movies, music, and gear. You can join the chat by going to the Shoutbox app.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Media server (AppleTV) etc.

Discussion in 'Hardware Lounge' started by Chris Slade, May 23, 2007.

1. Chris Slade

Chris Slade Active Member War Zone Member Top Poster

So I've been researching these off and on for a few months. Reading a lot at AVS. There doesn't seem to be a really good unit out there. Some play very few formats, some have a crappy interface, some have network issues. Pretty much there isn't a unit out there that many enthusiasts recommended.

I'm so frustrated it's unreal. The best thing to do seems to be buy an original Xbox, mod it and run XBMC and that will do most things.

I don't understand why someone can't get this product right. I think the demand for a good working versatile unit would be huge. I'm I crazy?

I've looked at Netgear EVA8000
    dlink DSM-520
    xbox
    AppleTV
    Tvix
    PixelMagic

and probably some others I can't remember right now.

2. CJ

CJ Well-Known Member Admin War Zone Member

Top Poster Of Month

The reason that no one has got it right is that up until recently many big players have avoided the game for fear of lawsuits. Kaleidescape recently won a lawsuit that may change this. I would give it a little more time and see if some products don't start coming out. The AppleTV would be ideal if there was a good way to get high quality videos into iTunes.

3. Chris Slade

Yeap, format support is the problem with AppleTV. It seems like a great polished product, just what I'd want if I could use it to play pretty much whatever I want.

4. DYohn

DYohn Well-Known Member Donor