1. Create an account to join in the discussion. Once you register don't forget to enter our monthly drawings.

Register to post on our forum.
  2. Home Theater Lounge will begin holding a live chat every Wednesday evening at 9pm Central. The goal is to get as many members online at the same time and just talk movies, music, and gear. You can join the chat by going to the Shoutbox app.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Spare Change - I hit a jackpot in my own house

Discussion in 'The VIP Lounge' started by Steve Tannehill, Jun 9, 2007.

1. Steve Tannehill

Steve Tannehill New Member War Zone Member

I've been accumulating pocket change for over twenty years. I had bags, boxes, cups, mugs, you name it.

It was gathering dust. Sure, having a penny collection is cool, but what's the point when you can go to a CoinStar machine and cash it in for free if you redeem in gift certificates?

So this is what I counted up last night and this morning:

coinstar.jpg

If I had brought all the coins, I would have made that first one $516.32--my very own Gong Show prize. As it stands, I now have almost $600 credit at Amazon. That HD-XA2 is calling...

So how much spare change do you have set aside, and why don't you cash it in already?!?

- Steve

2. Ken McDaniel

Ken McDaniel Active Member War Zone Member

Don't a charge a premium for that?

3. Steve Tannehill

There is no premium if you exchange for gift certificates. Amazon, iTunes, Starbucks, Eddie Bauer are a few of the companies that eliminate the premium.

If you redeem for cash, they charge 8.9 percent. Even the bank charges 4-5 percent.

- Steve

4. Max Yokell

Max Yokell Active Member War Zone Member

Well I guess that will cover the cost of an HD-DVD or Blu-Ray disc or two. So I guess now the question is what is good that is out that you don't already have?

5. Stefan

Stefan Active Member War Zone Member