Total noob projector questions

Discussion in 'Hardware Lounge' started by darwin, Jun 15, 2007.

1. darwin

darwin New Member

My wife and I are girding our loins in preparation to deal with contractors next week to see about having an addition built onto the house for dedicated HT room. I have most of the equipment for the room already, but we're trying to decide if we want a projector or a large 1080p LCD flat panel TV or a 1080p LCD projector (in the $3k range). One of the deciding factors is how user friendly a projector will be. My wife doesn't want to have to fiddle with anything other than turning everything on/off, changing channels, or adjusting the volume with our universal remote.
    How user friendly is a projector, as friendly as the average HDTV? For example, will it automatically adjust the picture size when changing from 4:3 to a 16:9 source, etc? Are there any downsides to using a projector for casual TV viewing?

2. Michael

Michael Junior Geek

My wife who is terrible with A/V technology can use our projector without any problems.

The only real negative to using a PJ for daily TV viewing is that the bulb will run out fairly quickly and is expensive to replace.

3. CJ

CJ Well-Known Member Admin War Zone Member

Top Poster Of Month

I would also argue that even if you have total light control, having ONLY a PJ for every day use means watching everything in the dark or near dark. If its not a dedicated HT, I'm a big fan of pull-down screens in front of a Television.

4. Michael

Michael Junior Geek

Ditto on the controlled light thing. I assumed controlled light since you were talking about a dedicated room.

5. Mike B

Mike B Well-Known Member Donor War Zone Member Top Poster

Me too - :D

newht2.jpg

6. Matt J_S

Matt J_S New Member