1. Create an account to join in the discussion. Once you register don't forget to enter our monthly drawings.

Register to post on our forum.
  2. Home Theater Lounge will begin holding a live chat every Wednesday evening at 9pm Central. The goal is to get as many members online at the same time and just talk movies, music, and gear. You can join the chat by going to the Shoutbox app.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

What is the math behind perspective to screen size?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Lounge' started by Matt Johnson, May 8, 2007.

1. Matt Johnson

Matt Johnson New Member

There's got to be math behind this, wondering if anyone knows it. I'm an engineer by schooling, but it's been 10 years and I'm a manager...so I don't know how to actually do anything now. :lol:

What I want to know is why is there a perceived difference between a big screen farther away versus a small screen closer to you.

Theoretically, you could hold a small tv close to you and cover the same square footage of your vision that a big tv would be farther away.

But it's different somehow. Assume everything is 1080p so we're not talking about resolution...talking about how your brain works.

2. Tom R S 4

Tom R S 4 New Member War Zone Member

I don't know the answer, but I do know one thing that is different: The focal point for your eyes. Your brain knows when it's focusing up close vs. far away.

3. Matt Johnson

Matt Johnson New Member

If I remember correctly, once you pass your focal point, you can focus fine. So let's assume the small tv is past your focal point...say for example a 37" tv 5' away vs. a 72" tv 10' away.

4. Michael

Michael Junior Geek

I thought it was all about screen size and seating distance.

Something along the lines of seating distance = 1.5 x screen width.

5. Alfer

Alfer New Member

I think the THX site has formula's that will help you out.

6. Steve Tillman

Steve Tillman New Member

7. Bill Stratton

Bill Stratton New Member